46° F

38 Teams Sign up for 2014 Iron Dog

Published On: Nov 01 2013 03:49:02 PM AKDT   Updated On: Nov 01 2013 03:49:32 PM AKDT

The signup deadline for the world's longest snowmachine race expired on Halloween, and the 2014 Iron Dog has produced a good turnout. 

A pro class of 38 teams will compete for the title across 2,000 miles of harsh Alaskan trail from Big Lake to Nome to Fairbanks.

The 10 past champions are in the race field, including the tandem of Marc McKenna and Dusty VanMeter, who have won the last two Iron Dog titles. One intriguing partnership this year is that of two-time winner Tyler Huntington and four-time champion Todd Palin.  

Huntington won his two Iron Dog championships paired with Chris Olds, who is once again riding with Mike Morgan. Palin's most recent title came in 2007, alongside seven-time winner Scott Davis. The veteran Davis has chosen Aaron Bartel as his partner for 2014.

Aside from the McKenna-VanMeter duo, the only other team in the field to have won the race together as partners is the tandem of Todd Minnick and Nick Olstad, who won the race in 2009. Three-time runners-up Tyler Aklestad and Tyson Johnson will also try to win their first title as partners.

Five teams from rural Alaska are in the field, plus four from the state of Maine.

The 2014 Iron Dog race begins Sunday, February 16th in Big Lake, ending six days later in Fairbanks.

A complete list of the pro class roster can be seen here.