57° F
Light Rain
Light Rain

Four-Time NCAA Champion Headlines Stout Class

Published On: Apr 25 2014 09:04:57 PM AKDT

One month after winning a fourth career NCAA title, Micah Chelimo has repeated once again.  The senior distance runner from Kenya earned the UAA Athlete of the Year award for the second straight year on Friday night, topping a strong group of Seawolf peers.  

Chelimo's four NCAA Division II championship efforts have spanned all three endurance seasons:  cross country, plus indoor and outdoor track.  In this season's NCAA indoor track and field meet, he overcame a disappointing runner-up finish in the 5,000 meters where he was edged by .01 seconds to win the 3,000 meters two days later, by that same .01 margin.  

Chelimo joins runner and cross country skier Tobias Schwoerer in 2002-03 as the only UAA athletes to win the award in consecutive years.  Gymnast Teri Frankie is also a two-time winner, in 1986 and 1990.  

Other quality candidates up for the award included:  
Cody Parker, who won the 2013 NCAA javelin title
Katelynn Zanders, a Division II volleyball All-American
Matt Bailey, who led the UAA hockey team to 18 wins with 20 goals and 18 assists

Overall, UAA coaches selected 13 student athletes for nomination.