62° F

League To Have Intra-Divisional Playoffs In First Two Rounds

Published On: Jun 24 2014 09:42:40 PM AKDT
Aces logo

Faced with the prospect of having only seven teams in the Western Conference next season with the Las Vegas Wranglers folding, the ECHL shuffled the deck on Tuesday, announcing that three teams from the East, as well as an expansion franchise, will switch conferences.  The move balances the ECHL with 11 teams in the West and 10 in the East.

Another new wrinkle of the 2014-15 season will be intra-divisional playoffs in the first two rounds of the postseason.  However, if the three-time Kelly Cup champion Aces advance at least as far as the conference finals, they'll likely face one of the new Western foes in the conference finals.

The new-look Western Conference will look like this:

2014-15 ECHL Midwest Division-- Western Conference

Colorado Eagles

Evansville IceMen

Fort Wayne Komets

Indy Fuel

Kalamazoo Wings

2014-15 ECHL Pacific Division-- Western Conference

Alaska Aces

Bakersfield Condors

Idaho Steelheads

Ontario Reign

Stockton Thunder

Utah Grizzlies

The Aces open the 2014-15 season on Friday, October 17th at home versus the Ontario Reign.